You are here
Home > Article > What Is The UEFA Nations League?

What Is The UEFA Nations League?

Spread the love

The UEFA Nations League is good attempt at getting the thrill of International football back in the game by replacing all of the friendlies that no one really cares about [See Ryan Giggs]. Anyway, you want to know all about the UEFA Nations League? Here’s how it works:




  • The UEFA Nations League is an international competition which the 55 member nations of UEFA will take part.


  • It will be held every two years ending with an even number


  • The tournament starts in September 2018, a few months after the World Cup and the winner will be decided in June 2019.


  • The competition will replace most friendly international games
  • The games will be played in the host country which will be decided in December 2018




  • The 55 teams will be divided into four leagues and they have been organised into seeding pots.


  • There will be 12 teams will be in each League. (League A,B,C,D)


  • The lowest league (D) will be populated by drawing from the lowest seeds and the process will work upwards to the highest seeds from C, to D, and A.


  • In the top division League A, teams will compete to become the UEFA nations League champions.


  • Teams will be promoted and relegates through leagues.


  • The UEFA Nations League will also be linked with the Euro qualifiers as another way to qualify


The Draw


  • The draw for the first ever UEFA Nations League be on Wednesday 24th January 2018 (11:00 GMT)


  • It will be streamed live on UEFA.COM and updates provided on their social media channels


  • In the UK Sky Sports have the rights to UEFA Nations League matches for England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales so the draw will be shown on Sky too.




  • UEFA’s executive committee have decided that Russia and Ukraine aren’t going to be drawn together in League B. the same ruling applies to Armenia and Azerbaijan in group D.


  • In League C because of winter venue issues in Norway, Finland, Estonia and Lithuania – only a single group can only contain two of these teams.


  • Travel issues in League D also mean that no group can have more than one of the following pairs of teams: Andorra and Kazakhstan, Faroe Islands and Kazakhstan, Gibraltar and Kazakhstan, Gibraltar and Azerbaijan.


Facebook Comments